326th Airborne Medical Company Photographs and Veteran Testimonies

gliderridermedic

15 Dec 2010, 20:04 #1

I am a veteran (GWOT, serving with the US Air Force as a medical provider) who is working on a book on the 326th and I am searching for photos, film footage and veteran testimonies of those who served with the unit during WWII.  I have obtained pretty much everything the Army Medical Department has on the subject and I have been in contact with a couple of the surviving members of the unit (one in Nevada and one in New York) and have sent letters to several other persons I believe to have served with the unit.  Sadly, I found that I missed a couple of the veterans by a matter of a few months although one of the gentlemen's son was unaware of what his father's unit had done during the war so I have been helping to show him the important role the 326th played in the liberation of Europe.  It's nice to be able to give something back to a family and to allow this son to be able to feel closer to the parent he so recently lost.
That said, I am in hopes that perhaps the members of this forum might have photographs, unit records or veteran testimonies that would be helpful in my research.  If anyone knows of any additional surviving members of the unit, I would appreciate your assistance in getting in touch with them so that I can make sure their experiences are recorded for posterity.   Likewise, if anyone knows of the families of veterans who are no longer with us but might be willing to talk to a historian I would like to get in touch with them.  If anyone knows of any documents, items or photographs that have been donated to museums, historical societies, libraries, I would also appreciate being made aware of them.